What’s So Funny?

What’s So Funny?

Books that made us laugh out loud.

20% OFF* selected marked titles!

This month we’ve picked a bunch of our fave books that made us laugh out loud and are sharing the funny! Be ready to get the giggles with one of these great books, and make sure you visit us in store to check out the full selection.

 

confederacy of duncesA Confederacy of Dunces

by John Kennedy Toole

Toole’s grotesque anti-hero, Ignatius J. Reilly, casts a long, round shadow on the imagination. As verbose and deranged as Hunter S. Thompson, as strident as a TV Evanfelist, and as fat as Buddha, Ignatius is on a hotdog-fuelled one-man crusade to save New Orleans from the barbarians which wallow in it. At one point he lambasts his mother for “screeching like a fishmonger.” Just buy this book, you need it in your life. “Hilarious” is too feeble a word.

Reviewed by Connor

 

me earl dying girlMe and Earl and the Dying Girl

by Jesse Andrews

The best way for me to showcase just how hilarious this book is would be to write down my favourite quotes. However, the chances of me receiving a customer complaint and getting fired as a result would become as high as this book’s main character after drinking his teacher’s Pho soup. This is the first book that has ever made me laugh out loud – needless to say, there is plenty of profanity!

Reviewed by Phoebe

 

chair affairThe Chair Affair

by Craens Maassen

Chair porn. Yep. Chair porn.

A peephole view of chairs getting intimate from the small press stylings of the sensational Onomatopee Publishing.

Reviewed by Kim

 

9781473214712-ukGood Omens

by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Be prepared, because according to “The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch”, written before she exploded, the world will end on Saturday after dinner. Fans of both Terry and Neil rejoice! This book is a perfect apocalyptic combination of these two geniuses, for lifelong Pratchett-Gaiman followers and newcomers alike. Between a misplaced Antichrist and falling frogs, angels and demons who enjoy Earth life so much they aren’t too pleased with an incoming Rapture, Good Omens is a cackle-friendly satire by two Gods of Literature.

Reviewed by Jess

 

etiquette and espionageEtiquette and Espionage

by Gail Carriger

This is Gail Carriger’s first foray into the turbulent world of YA fiction and it is as humorous and refreshing as a top hat on a wolf. Like a certain trifle, Etiquette & Espionage, ends up in all sorts of new and wonderful places. Tighten your corset laces and hang on to your petticoats, this is one adventure that will leave you with excitable stomach butterflies long after you’ve turned the last page. Best consumed with tea.

Reviewed by Felicity

 

sisters brothersThe Sisters Brothers

by Patrick deWitt

This is the most peculiar Western you’ve ever heard of. It’s the tense, violent tale of a pair of fearsome bounty hunters on the trail of an elusive fortune. It’s also shot through with a shimmering streak of frontier mysticism, and the most laugh-out-loud pitch-black gallows humour this side of Deadwood. Hilariously funny, heartbreakingly sad, and possessed of a powerful and surprising humanity which reveals itself only gradually.

Reviewed by Connor

 

find momoFind Momo Coast to Coast

by Andrew Knapp

Hmmm… Is Momo really a border collie who loves to hide? Or could it be Momo is yet another helpless victim of a dude with a camera, an Instagram account and way too much time on his hands. Either way, Momo is the cutest spot-the-dog we know!

Reviewed by Kim

 

* Not in conjunction with any other offer. Discount applies to selected marked titles only in store and online until 28 February 2017.

 

 

You may also like

View all blog posts →

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Please let us know you're not a robot: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.